How can I ensure my signature complies with eIDAS Regulations?

Who can use this feature?

Available on Professional, Business and Enterprise plans.

All members

Introduction to the eIDAS Regulation

The eIDAS regulation, formally known as Regulation 910/2014, is a critical framework established by the European Union to standardize electronic identification and trust services across all member states. Implemented fully on July 1, 2016, eIDAS ensures that digital transactions within the EU are secure, legally binding, and recognized across borders.

Ensuring eIDAS Compliance with Sign.Plus

We provide you with Qualified Electronic Signatures (QES) that are fully compliant with eIDAS regulations, ensuring your digital signatures hold legal validity across the EU.

What is the eIDAS Regulation?

eIDAS stands for Electronic Identification, Authentication, and Trust Services. It was introduced to create a uniform regulatory environment across the EU for electronic transactions. This regulation not only boosts user confidence in digital services but also enhances the internal market's efficiency by providing a safe, reliable framework for electronic interactions.

Types of Electronic Signatures Under eIDAS

eIDAS categorizes electronic signatures into three distinct levels, each designed to meet varying degrees of security and legal requirements:

  1. Simple Electronic Signature (SES)
    The SES is the foundational level of electronic signature. It involves data in electronic form, such as typed names or digital marks, which is used by the signatory to signify agreement. This type is best suited for non-critical documents where legal requirements for proof of integrity and authenticity are minimal.
  2. Advanced Electronic Signature (AES)
    An AES offers enhanced security features. It is uniquely linked to the signatory, capable of identifying them, and any changes made to the document after signing are detectable. AES is suitable for more sensitive documents, where additional assurance about the signatory’s identity and document integrity is required.
  3. Qualified Electronic Signature (QES)
    The QES is the most secure type of eSignature and carries the same legal weight as a handwritten signature throughout the EU. To achieve this status, a signature must meet the AES criteria and also be validated by a trusted service provider listed on the EU Trusted List. QES is ideal for high-stake transactions and documents that require the highest level of security and legal assurance.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
More Articles in this section